Safety first: pay attention to crash test ratings

These days, when buying a car, safety is generally one of the top priorities. If you’re thinking about getting a new automobile, be careful not to choose a car just based on looks or horsepower, safety is everything.429551 crash test dummies Safety first: pay attention to crash test ratingsIn the UK, safety tests are very detailed and specific, with rigorous requirements. It may seem extreme, but its purpose is to ensure safety for drivers and pedestrians. Some even think that European laws for safety testing could be even tougher.

The European New Car Assessment Programme (a.k.a. Euro NCAP) has been really trying to urge carmakers to not only meet safety requirements, but to exceed them. This technique began in 1997 and has been going on ever since. The test is based on a star system, with 5 stars being the highest. Popular cars wait for their ratings to be published, in the hopes of having a five-star rating. The three areas that they are tested for are: adult occupant protection, child occupant protection, and pedestrian safety.

Here are some winners and losers of the past ten years:

1997 – Volvo S40 becomes the first ever recipient of 4 stars
1997 – Rover 100 awarded the worst ever result for adult occupant protection
2001 – Renault Laguna becomes the first ever 5-star car
2004 – Toyota Prius achieves the best ever result for child protection
2005 – Citroen C6 gets the best ever result for pedestrian protection
2007 – Nissan Qashqai awarded the best ever result for adult occupation protection

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: